The Authors Show presents: Zero Day: China’s Cyber Wars

November 30, 2017

For readers who enjoyed Tom Clancy and James Patterson thrillers, CIA veteran T. L. Williams unfolds a chilling--and highly conceivable--scenario in his latest novel, ZERO DAY: China's Cyber Wars. Moving between Chongqing, China and Langley, Virginia, this fast-paced spy thriller revolves around a plot by the Chinese government to seize the edge on global power by undermining the U.S. economy. Armed with an underground force of hackers, China's Ministry of Public Security (MPS) has a mission: to destroy confidence in the dollar by launching persistent, aggressive cyberattacks on America's banking system. Revenge--against the Communist Party for his father's shameful death, Li Jiang, a senior Public Security Bureau officer in Chongqing, lets America in on the covert details of China's masterful cyberattack plan. To vet and handle this potential asset, the CIA dispatches Logan Alexander, a former Navy SEAL, working undercover in Hong Kong, to China. Logan quickly comes to trust Li. But the brass back in Langley have doubts. Could Li be a double agent? Or could a trusted American be spying for the Chinese? Reviewed by the CIA, ZERO DAY is packed with authentic insider details.

00:0000:00

The Authors Show presents: My Fur-ever Family

November 21, 2017

A litter of Yorkshire Terrier puppies are ready to be adopted. The puppies are concerned about leaving their siblings and Big Daddy. One puppy shares her experiences in being chosen to go home with a new family. She gives a descriptive account of her adventures with her new family and what she observes around her. She learns that she has a new Mommy, Daddy and four human sisters. She longs to be loved and to be given a special name.  Throughout the story good life lessons emerge for the children and the adults.

00:0000:00

The Authors Show presents: Resilient on Purpose

October 9, 2017

Everyone has a story to tell or has experienced trials and tribulations in their life. Due to the many trials and tribulations I have encountered since the 1970's I was led to write this book to inspire hope for those going through a storm or stuck in turbulent situation. It’s time to change your mind-set about your situation and your abilities. I strongly believe that there is a time for everything. Read Ecclesiastes chapter 3 to see that as long as you continue in life, you face the possibility of experiencing one of these seasons mentioned. God can turn your obstacles into opportunities. Rebuke the victim mentality, erase the negative self-talk, and walk in faith every day. If you don’t already have a few Bible verses that inspire you, give you hope, and help get you through tough times, I recommend that you start reading and identifying some verses. Start with ones that I have included in this book. So whether it’s abandonment, sickness, unforgiveness, or death, with God, you can get through any and every situation in your life. I know because He has brought me through many things such that I am Resilient on Purpose.

 

00:0000:00

The Authors Show presents: A Dream Come True

September 16, 2017

A Dream Come True by Jeryn Alise Turner dives into the deep aspects of one of the most important relationships a woman can have; the one with her mother. The setting of this book is Peru, a mecca of spirituality, and involves a time traveler experience. This book portrays the strong spirit of women and the sacred bond and strength that exists when they come together.

On their trip to Peru, a mother and daughter take an excursion to the Sacred Valley where they have an honest conversation about their lives. By opening up emotionally, they create a deeper level of trust and commitment. Although fiction, Turner’s book summarizes the true dynamics present in many relationships.

Filled with timeless advice and written from the daughter’s point of view, this book is a must read for all but especially for those who seek to deepen the connections with the important women in their lives.

00:0000:00

The Authors Show presents: Grains of Truth

August 8, 2017

What are the lies we tell ourselves to stay sane?
In the world of a Texas feed store, the line between reality and truth blurs when love and friendship are at stake.  Meet Sarah and Zoe, two best friends who work in a family-owned feed store. Their lives begin to unravel when love sparks between Sarah and the feed store owner’s only heir, Tom. Patriarch Otis quickly makes it known that his only son’s future won’t include the feed store “girl”. The clash over Tom’s love life erupts in a family feud where business is expected to trump love. In the meantime, a romance also ignites between Zoe and the local town physician whom she nicknames “Dr. Sex on Two Legs”. The women are quickly caught up in a family feud that leads to unexpected consequences, loss and tragedy.
Grains of Truth is an intense, emotional and passion-filled story about two best friends looking for that one thing everyone wants — love. It’s a story about friendship and accepting what you can’t change. Grains of Truth will move you to tears and leave you astonished. It’s a must-read story with an unexpected twist.

00:0000:00

The Authors Show presents: The Sure Mercies

July 28, 2017

The hardest person to forgive is yourself.

Benjamin Orry, a wounded Iraq War veteran, sets out to visit the hometown of fallen comrade Uriah Landon. His goal is to return Uriah’s personal effects to his family which includes Uriah’s last letter home. Uriah’s Christian faith had been tested to extremes in Iraq, and at home. Ben is uncertain of the composition of the letter but is certain Uriah expressed heartbroken feelings in another item he carries: Uriah’s personal leather-bound journal.
The brutal truths in Uriah’s final entries may damage the faith of many in the close-knit town. For the sake of peace, Ben considers not revealing the journal to anyone, but having witnessed Uriah’s violent death, he feels he owes it to his memory to let his final entries be read. As he limps painfully through Uriah’s neighborhood he wonders what he’ll do, what justice might be, and what several of Uriah’s loved ones must do to have self-forgiveness. However, a series of encounters and circumstances keeps hindering the well-disciplined soldier.

00:0000:00

The Authors Show presents: “Two Shades of Vice”

July 18, 2017

The action is hot in Kansas City during the 1960s. Gordon Reynolds happens to be a vicious criminal who has served prison time in five different states over a period of twenty-five years. Gordon is determined to muscle his way into major rackets such as prostitution, bootlegging whiskey, robbery, hijacking and contraband cigarettes. He eventually meets up with Alla Mae Briggs. She knows the prostitution racket very well, since she worked the Kansas City streets for several years. She too has a lengthy rap sheet of twenty-five criminal convictions for the solicitation of prostitution. Gordon needs someone to help him operate his main bawdy house.
The collaboration of their experiences on the streets proves highly profitable. But unforeseen danger causes things to come crashing down all around them. Racist cops, ruthless gangsters, a white supremacist group, jealous pimps and rival hookers are the opposing forces that this interracial couple are destined to face. Crossing the racial line puts them at incredible odds with the law and fellow criminals alike. Based on the true story of how a white man and a black woman fell in love and broke all the rules in order to make their living together illegally.

00:0000:00

The Authors Show presents: What is Man? Male and Female

July 16, 2017

This book focuses on the question “What does it mean to be human”? unlike other best sellers like John Grey’s Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus: The Classic Guide to Understanding the Opposite Sex that focuses on what it means to be male or female as of year 2004.

The scope of What is Man? Male and Female has been broadened to include the interests of Parents in their parenting, Sociologists, Psychologists, and Psychiatrists as well as pre and in-service teachers and other education administration personnel. All of these professions have “Man” as their subject so it is critical to their practices how they view the “human.” Who or what is it that they are attempting to define, teach, or develop therapies for?

Resources used as endnote citations all predate 1987 and most predate 1975. I used original sources written by the philosopher himself or a close colleague.

00:0000:00

The Authors Show presents: “Who Knew?” by Richard F. Libin

June 19, 2017

It doesn't matter what you do, where you come from, or where you're headed. This book is about you. Why? Because everyone is selling something everyday; because everyone is a salesperson - parents, teachers, consumers, employees, sales professionals and even politicians. Every day you are trying to sell something, from the time you get up until you go to bed. You negotiate, communicate and you try to influence the way people think. Like it or not, selling is an essential skill. Who Knew?  

00:0000:00

The Authors Show presents: “Don’t Live the Good Life; Live the Better Life”

March 22, 2017

In wanting the better life, versus wanting the good life you are in essence, always wanting to strive for more. I relate many aspects of life and how we think, to the central idea of wanting the better life. We all want more, no matter where we are in life, but it’s whether or not we want to put in the effort. I discuss many simple, common sense approaches we can all take to create that better life. It is a quite simple, but constant process. Enjoy the results.

00:0000:00